“Don’t Carpe Diem”

A friend of mine shared a blog on Facebook this morning called 2011 Lesson #2: Don’t Carpe Diem by Momastery.  Wow.  It could not have come at a better time.  You should read it.  Really.  Like, right now.

I never could put my finger on what bothered me with people telling me to “enjoy every moment” with my son because “it goes by so fast.”  Like something was wrong with me because I just couldn’t do it, and trying to made my blood pressure sky-rocket.   Lemme tell ya, this mom nailed it for me.   Totally.

The last few days leading up to this morning are a perfect example.  Boy child has had some, um, “issues” with his regularity, which does not happen often.  He just couldn’t get it out.  For days.  I was starting to get worried, especially since this boy eats like a horse at times, and right now would be one of them.  I bribed.  I threatened.  Nothing worked.  This morning, I finally had to resort to our least favorite remedy: the suppository.  Success!  Because the last few days of crying and loads of drama all around and completely unrelated to the potty issue were really, I mean really, wearing on me.  Needless to say, I definitely was NOT enjoying those moments.  If I enjoyed drinking, I would have been tossing it back well before noon.

But then there are those brief moments when something happens.  Something magical.  The planets align.  Time stops.  And I notice some bit of awesomeness about the boy child that makes me all warm and fuzzy inside and beam with pride and makes my heart swell with love.  After the potty drama this morning, he did all his breakfast chores without prompting.  And when it was time to walk to the bus stop, he put on his coat and backpack, again, without prompting.  And we walked out the door without a single. moment. of. drama.  Kairos!  *Cue angels singing*

2 responses to ““Don’t Carpe Diem”

  1. I so loved that post too!

    Congrats on starting a new blog! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

