Comparison is the Thief of Joy

I keep coming across that saying lately.  Comparing oneself to others, noticing the differences in your lives really does get in the way of being happy with what you DO have.

But I’ve also been struggling with that statement.

Where is the line between comparison stealing your joy, and realizing you’re not getting things you deserve?   And I’m not talking about stuff.  Why do some people have such struggles in life?  Why do bad things happen to good people?  And why do good things happen to bad people?  How unfair.

When I would complain about some inequality as child, my mother used to always tell me that life isn’t fair.  I really hated when she said that.

When that statement gets stuck in my head and the internal struggle begins, I’m going to try to stop the cycle and try remember to be thankful for what I do have.  Today, I am thankful for such beautiful weather after such terrible storms yesterday!

What are you thankful for?

2 responses to “Comparison is the Thief of Joy

  1. I know how you feel. I compare myself to my perceptions of other people and their lives. I don’t know why – I have a good life and really nothing to complain about. I am blessed. And recently, I am so very thankful for my husband. He does so much for me that he doesn’t even know he does.

  2. This is so true! I go back and forth with this myself.

Leave a Reply

