Puffed Millet Brand – GF FAIL

While the Candied Puffed Cereal recipe was a success, the brand itself was a big fat FAIL.  As it turns out, I wasn’t paying close enough attention to the description of the Arrowhead Mills Puffed Millet.  It was NOT gluten free and my son reacted.  Bad mommy!  😦  I was able to get him to take some Glutenease mixed with honey and that helped lessen the reaction and he was fine in time for the first day of first grade.

The other brand of Puffed Millet I’ve seen online is Nature’s Path, and there are comments on Amazon that several GF folks successfully consume it without issue, but it’s not certified gluten free.  I’ve contacted Arrowhead Mills to find out how it’s contaminated so I know that this level of cross contamination is not safe for my boy.  I’m still awaiting that response.

I also posted on a Celiac forum asking about the Nature’s Path, and someone responded that she had contacted the company about it.  They said there’s some slight chance for cross contamination but absolutely no gluten in the item.  I think I will contact them to find out about the “slight chance of cross contamination” before buying it.

2 responses to “Puffed Millet Brand – GF FAIL

  1. I am very disappointed in this product as well! I am not a celiac but I do have a gluten intolerance. I recently purchased this cereal and was super excited about it. I also reacted poorly to it, but it took me a little while to figure out it was the cereal that caused it, since I thought it was gluten free. I learned me lesson on that one! I will do better research next time before consuming something that seems gluten free but isn’t labeled properly.

    • scatteredeverywhere

      Thanks for the comment!
      Sorry you had to find out the hard way like we did that Arrowhead Mills Puffed Millet isn’t gluten free. The only other brand of puffed millet that I know of is Nature’s Path, and while it isn’t certified either, there are many reviews on Amazon by gluten intolerant folks who say they are okay with it. I’m not going to take the gamble! I don’t know the exact nature of my son’s gluten issue, since I removed it from his diet before we could be seen by a doctor, but it seems as though he is sensitive enough to react to things that are just labeled “Gluten Free” and not actually certified as such. So I’ve found it safest for him to stick with certified gluten free items only.
      I’ve started using the Enjoy Life Crunchy Flax cereal in the Candied cereal recipe. It works, but the flavor of the cereal is a little overpowering in comparison to the maple. I tried to get him turned on to the idea of using peanut butter and some chocolate, and make a Reese’s type cereal out of it, but the smart kid said that was too junky for breakfast! LOL

Leave a Reply

